Starting Something New

After pushing aside my apprehension and anxiety, I finally decided to pursue something I’ve been interested in forever…I’m starting real estate school on Monday! I LOVE real estate; every time there’s an open house somewhere, I want to go. Not just because I’m nosy (though I am) but because there is something about a home that really intrigues me. I think it’s interesting to see what appeals to different people and what can be done to a space that makes it not just a house (or apartment) but a home. Whenever my husband and I are in a different area, I always want to drive around and look at neighborhoods, check out the real estate and try to gauge the market. I pick up the real estate section of the newspaper wherever we go and I’m always checking out listings online.

This is something I’ve been thinking about for a while, actually. A few years ago, while we were still in NYC, I took one real estate class but couldn’t continue because my work schedule made it impossible. Though if I’m being honest with myself, I think I was just scared. The market had  just hit rock bottom and all I kept hearing was that one would have to be crazy to go into real estate at that time. I couldn’t picture voluntarily leaving my comfortable, well-paying job for the gamble that was real estate. So I dropped it and pretended it didn’t exist.

When I was trying to figure out what to do here, my husband brought up the idea of trying again. I sort of considered it but pushed it aside; the idea made me nervous. What if I tried it but failed? What if I took something that is a passion for me and turned it into a terrible experience? What if I’m just not cut out for it?

It’s time to forget about my fears and at least give it the fair shot it deserves. I thought about not telling anybody because that way if I failed, nobody had to know but my husband but that seems like a cop-out. So, hopefully the class goes well!

4 thoughts on “Starting Something New

  1. Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new.

    Albert Einstein
    1879 — 1955

    It’s not how many times you fall down, it’s how many times you get back up.

    Unknown

    I’d rather be a failure at something I enjoy than a success at something I hate.

    George Burns
    1896 — 1996

    I have not failed. I’ve just found ten thousand ways that won’t work.

    Thomas Edison
    1847 — 1931

    I could go on . . . . .
    So happy for you that you have found a passion to explore! No doubt in my mind that you will be more than successful! :)

  2. I’m excited that you are pursuing something you’re interested in! I hope it works out for you. And if it turns out that it just isn’t for you, at least you’ll have tried and I’m sure you’ll use it as a learning experience. I love the quotes in the comments above…I hope you find them helpful too.

  3. That is so, SO fantastic – good for you! And a great idea – it’s something you can use wherever you live, and a great way to get to know Orlando better. Plus, it’s a little less risky since you’re not leaving another job to take it on, right? I’m a BIG believer in taking on something new, especially when it’s a little scary. Three years ago I went back to school (while still working full time, and as a single mom of 3) – it was a terrifying idea at the time, but it’s something I’ve always wanted to do. Last month I proudly attended convocation – whether I use the new degree or not, it feels like a huge accomplishment! Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

